Inlägg från Gail Z Martin

Publicerad: Torsdag, 21 juni 2018, Skribent: Linda

Returning to the Winter Kingdoms

By Gail Z. Martin

The Summoner, my first book in The Chronicles of the Necromancy series, came out eleven years ago. The first six books, ending with The Dread, told the story of Tris Drake’s rise to power as king of Margolan. After everything I’d put Tris, Kiara, Carina, Cam, Jonmarc and the others through, I figured they deserved a little time to put their feet up and recuperate.

Since then, I’ve explored a lot of new territory. The Ascendant Kingdoms series that begins with Ice Forged is post-apocalyptic medieval epic fantasy. The new Darkhurst series (Scourge and the upcoming Vengeance) is a bit grimdark, with the Valmonde brothers and their outlaw friends killing monsters in medieval Ravenwood and uncovering a bloody conspiracy. The Deadly Curiosities urban fantasy series, set in modern-day Charleston, SC is all about getting cursed and haunted objects out of the wrong hands and saving the world from supernatural threats. Two series have been co-written with my husband, Larry N. Martin, including Iron & Blood (and the related Storm & Fury adventures) which takes a steampunk twist on adventure with airships, inventors and explosions, while the Mark Wojcik Monster Hunter comedic horror are snarky adventures tied into John Hartness’s New Templars Bubba the Monster Hunter series.

So it’s time to come home. This summer, we’ll bring out The Dark Road, which is the second in the Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures collections (sequel to The Shadowed Path). The Dark Road picks up immediately after The Shadowed Path, and traces Jonmarc’s journey to becoming an outlaw and smuggler, ending about five years before he meets up with Tris Drayke in The Summoner.

But the real homecoming will be in the new Legacy of the Necromancer series which will begin in 2019. That series picks up about 17 years after the end of The Dread and deals with how the ramifications of the events of the first series affect Tris, Jonmarc, Kiara and the others, and shape the future of the seven kingdoms.

I don’t have titles for the new Legacy series yet, but I have contracted Michael Komarck, the wonderful artist who did the covers for The Summoner, The Blood King, Dark Haven, Iron & Blood and The Shadowed Path to do the art for the first three books. I’m so excited to be working with Michael again, and I can’t wait to see what he comes up with!

It’s been a big year for us with collections! Storm & Fury is the first time the short stories/novellas in our steampunk series (tied into the Iron & Blood world) have been collected in one volume, and available in both ebook and print. It’s the adventures of  Mitch Storm and Jacob Drangosavich, agents with the Department of Paranormal Investigation. Then two Deadly Curiosities collections—Trifles and Folly/Trifles and Folly 2–serve up all of those short stories/novellas in two ebook and print volumes!

Don’t miss our other recent releases! Vengeance (sequel to Scourge) is the second book in the Darkhurst series, Tangled Web is the third Deadly Curiosities novel, and Deep Trouble is the third Mark Wojcik Monster Hunter novella (co-written with Larry N. Martin).

Stay tuned—there are a lot more new adventures coming up!

Enter for a chance to win a $25 Amazon gift certificate in my Hawthorn Moon Blog Tour giveaway!

About the Author

The Hawthorn Moon is the annual summer blog tour for Gail Z. Martin, and features guest blog posts, giveaways, surprises, excerpts and more on a number of blogs worldwide. Find the master list of posts and goodies at

Gail Z. Martin writes epic fantasy, urban fantasy and steampunk for Solaris Books, Orbit Books, and Falstaff Books. Series include Darkhurst, the Chronicles Of The Necromancer, the Fallen Kings Cycle, the Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, and Deadly Curiosities. The Mark Wojcik Monster Hunter series and Iron & Blood in the Jake Desmet Steampunk series are co-authored with Larry N. Martin, along with the related Storm and Fury Adventures. She also writes urban fantasy MM paranormal romance as Morgan Brice, including the Witchbane and Badlandsseries.

Vengeance: A Darkhurst novel, is the second in a new epic fantasy series. Her Deadly Curiosities urban fantasy series set in Charleston, SC has a new novel, Tangled Web, and a new collection, Trifles and Folly 2. The Mark Wojcik Monster Hunter series includes Spells, Salt, and Steel, Open Season and Deep Trouble in a new comedic horror/urban fantasy series (Falstaff) and the Iron & Blood universe has the  Storm and Fury Adventures collection of short stories, and an upcoming new novel, Spark of Destiny.

Gail is also the author of Scourge: A Novel of Darkhurst, Ice Forged, Reign of Ash, War of Shadows and Shadow and Flame in The Ascendant Kingdoms Saga, The Chronicles of The Necromancer series (The Summoner, The Blood King, Dark Haven, Dark Lady’s Chosen); The Fallen Kings Cycle (The Sworn, The Dread) and the urban fantasy novels Deadly Curiosities and Vendetta. Gail writes three ebook series: The Jonmarc Vahanian Adventures, The Deadly Curiosities Adventures and The Blaine McFadden Adventures.

Her work has appeared in over 35 US/UK anthologies. Newest anthologies include: Clockwork Universe: Steampunk vs. Aliens, Gaslight and Grimm, Hath No Fury, Journeys, #We Are Not This, The Baker Street Irregulars, In a Cat’s Eye, and Afterpunk: Steampowered Tales of the Afterlife.

Find her at, on Twitter @GailZMartin, on, at blog and on Goodreads She is also the organizer of the #HoldOnToTheLight campaign



Prenumerera på våra nyhetsbrev